Author Topic: From ova to image  (Read 2690 times)

Juan Pucheu

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 78
    • View Profile
From ova to image
« on: July 24, 2013, 06:16:50 AM »
It would be great to image a stick from a virtual pc. żIt's possible? Thanks,Juan

jnetman1

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 286
    • View Profile
Re: From ova to image
« Reply #1 on: July 24, 2013, 01:42:10 PM »
Yes, that's how I build it and work on new versions now. All you need to do is a CD Boot in VirtualBox using the iso file from http://wiki.ubermix.org/page/CD_Install. Insert the USB key you want to use and capture it in the virtual machine, then all typical options will be available to you.

Juan Pucheu

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 78
    • View Profile
Re: From ova to image
« Reply #2 on: August 07, 2013, 04:49:58 PM »
Thanks!

Aaron Preabt

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 34
    • View Profile
Re: From ova to image
« Reply #3 on: July 10, 2014, 06:55:58 AM »
Jim, I've been trying to load Ubermix through a USB key into virtual box to start building my image, however everytime I go to image my virtual machine after booting from a cd/iso I get a bunch of "Unable to open /dev read-write" errors, then no imaging occurs. I've tried different types of virtual disks and ensured I have read-write permissions to the directory. What am I missing?

Aaron Preabt

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 34
    • View Profile
Re: From ova to image
« Reply #4 on: July 11, 2014, 08:28:01 AM »
Anyone have any suggestions on getting Ubermix 2.0 to load into virtual box?

jnetman1

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 286
    • View Profile
Re: From ova to image
« Reply #5 on: July 11, 2014, 09:51:03 AM »
Sounds like your disk is too small in your virtual machine. Default install wants 8Gb for the base, 4Gb for the user changes, and at least 2Gb for home folders. You could squeeze that down to about 10Gb when installing by choosing 2. Advanced Install and entering the minimum sizes for the partitions.

Aaron Preabt

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 34
    • View Profile
Re: From ova to image
« Reply #6 on: July 14, 2014, 11:23:14 AM »
You would be correct. Thanks for the guidance!

Aaron Preabt

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 34
    • View Profile
Re: From ova to image
« Reply #7 on: July 15, 2014, 12:38:57 PM »
Now for the next problem. After building my base image and booting to the CD and capturing on my thumbdrive, I am not able to boot a machine that I imaged with that drive. It's my base Aspire v5-131. The image I worked with was the 64-bit Ubermix 2.0. No errors were present during imaging, although it did go super fast. Not really sure what the problem is actually since everything appears to work great.

Aaron Preabt

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 34
    • View Profile
Re: From ova to image
« Reply #8 on: July 18, 2014, 06:31:56 AM »
Hey Jim (or others), any advice on this?

jnetman1

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 286
    • View Profile
Re: From ova to image
« Reply #9 on: July 18, 2014, 12:27:17 PM »
Could be that vbox didn't finish writing to the key. Definitely watch the usb indicator at the bottom of the vbox window to make sure that it is done before rebooting. Usually takes an extra 30 seconds or so.

Aaron Preabt

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 34
    • View Profile
Re: From ova to image
« Reply #10 on: July 21, 2014, 08:31:21 AM »
Just noticed this...While capturing the image in VB I received an error saying "split: /root/base_image.gz.aa: No space left on device. It's a 4Gb thumb drive...Also received error on an 8Gb freshly imaged with the 2.02 base...

jnetman1

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 286
    • View Profile
Re: From ova to image
« Reply #11 on: July 22, 2014, 09:08:03 AM »
You'll need to use gparted to make the partition bigger on the key. The default key partition is only 2.3 Gb. See http://ubermix.org/customization.html for details.

Aaron Preabt

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 34
    • View Profile
Re: From ova to image
« Reply #12 on: July 23, 2014, 03:06:58 PM »
Thanks, that seems to have fixed it. Now just to get auto-updates working...