Technical > General Support

internet connection problems on ubuntu

(1/1)

Eli:
Hi all, I'm still new to linux but have installed ubermix on an older computer I got for the kids to play on.

I'm having a problem getting the internet to stay connected. I have no idea what's causing the problem.

Currently I have it connected via a lan cable to my windows 10 PC, which has a usb dongle connected to the wi-fi. Internet on my PC is solid, but on the ubermix computer it is patchy, maybe works for 4-5 minutes when I first boot it up and then nothing.

The same thing seems to happen if I try the wifi dongle directly from the ubermix computer, I get a connection for a few minutes when I first plug it in, then nothing.

The errors showing in chrome either say DNS_PROBE_FINISHED_NO_INTERNET or ERR_INTERNET_DISCONNECTED.  Also a notification seems to pop up from now and then in the top right corner telling me the network has been disconnected.

I need some help troubleshooting this to figure out exactly where the problem lies, any help would be greatly appreciated! thanks

Wever:

--- Quote from: Eli on June 19, 2018, 02:05:49 PM ---Hi all, I'm still new to D-Bal but have installed ubermix on an older computer I got for the kids to play on.

I'm having a problem getting the internet to stay connected. I have no idea what's causing the problem.

Currently I have it connected via a lan cable to my windows 10 PC, which has a usb dongle connected to the wi-fi. Internet on my PC is solid, but on the ubermix computer it is patchy, maybe works for 4-5 minutes when I first boot it up and then nothing.

The same thing seems to happen if I try the wifi dongle directly from the ubermix computer, I get a connection for a few minutes when I first plug it in, then nothing.