Author Topic: Slashdotter here  (Read 2216 times)

captflint

• View Profile
Slashdotter here
« on: March 14, 2013, 10:16:01 PM »
So I found out about this distro today through slashdot.  I am very impressed with what I have seen so far.  I installed it on my laptop this evening (btw, fastest OS install I have ever done).  Now I am not an educator, nor do I work in a school, nor do I even have a child in school.  I do however have more than a passing interest in technology and education more generally and the quality of our public education system (as is perhaps indicated in this article I wrote).  I am, after all, a product of the public education system.

I wanted to know if it would be helpful at all to try to convince my local school district to consider deploying some Ubermix machines.  Like most school districts, they have been hit pretty hard by budget shortages.  They have cut extracurriculars and electives.

I also was wondering if there was work underway making an ubermix based off of 12.10 or if the Ubermix team is just planning on using LFS releases.  I can definitely see the advantage of the latter in an education environment.

And finally, my own humble suggestions for a future release.  These are just personal observations, but I am throwing them out there just in case someone finds them worth while.  I think it would be pretty cool the have something like calibre installed.  I realize there is a space issue, but it would be great for Ubermix to have ebook reading capabilities right out of the box.  Though if installing this application bumps the size over two GB, I can see how it might not be worth it.  2 gig thumb drives are really cheap these days, so fitting inside two gigs is a pretty cool feature.